NIAGARA GAZETTE Niagara-gazette.com

February 26, 2012

Banker, Scheving win PAL awards

Staff Reports Niagara Gazette

Seniors Kallie Banker of Grand Island and Tyler Scheving of Barker were honored as the 2012 Niagara Police Athletic League's Prep Athletes of the Year at the organization's 30th annual sports award dinner on Sunday at the Como Restaurant.

Banker was chosen from a pool of female candidates, which included: Eliza Dewart (Barker), Ryleigh Fitzgerald (Lewiston-Porter), Emily Belfield (Lockport), Julia Wright (Newfane), Felicia Chandler (Niagara Catholic), Kelsi Leo (Niagara Falls), Caitlin Attfield (Niagara-Wheatfield), Nicole Kaczor (North Tonawanda), Rachel Johnston (Royalton-Hartland), Kelly Koithan (Starpoint), Christina Partridge (Tonawanda) and Kailey Schultz (Wilson).

Scheving was chosen from a pool of male candidates, which included: Jonathan Voyzey (Grand Island), Dylan Krueger (Lewiston-Porter), Michael Feeney (Lockport), Maxwell Russell (Newfane), Adam Winkworth (Niagara Catholic), Tyler Bielec (Niagara Falls), Edward Starr (Niagara-Wheatfield), Eric Wilson (North Tonawanda), Zachary Yates (Royalton-Hartland), Matt Schutt (Starpoint), Jeremy Driscoll (Tonawanda) and Patrick Diez (Wilson).

Also honored were: Delaney Laper (North Tonawanda, Comeback Athlete of the Year), Kevin Kulikowski (Grand Island, Mark "Chief" Williams Award), Marc Daul (Niagara Falls, Sportsperson of the Year), Bridgette Burke (Lockport, Daemen, Female Post-Scholastic Athlete of the Year), Corey Balcerzak (Lockport, St. John Fisher, Male Post-Scholastic Athlete of the Year), Dewart (Barker, Mr. & Mrs. Alan R. Elia Memorial Scholarship), Zachary Moxham (Wilson, Mr. & Mrs. Alan R. Elia Memorial Scholarship), the state-champion Barker boys cross country team (Board of Directors Award) and Scheving, the Division II 800-meter state champion (Board of Directors Award).