N  I  A  G  A  R  A     G  A  Z  E  T  T  E      niagara-gazette.com

Published: June 30, 2009 10:19 pm     

HS BASEBALL: Grand Island trio tops all-NFL list

Staff Report
Niagara Gazette

Niagara Gazette Baseball Player of the Year Joel Klock headlines a group of three Grand Island players named to the coaches’ all-Niagara Frontier League first team. The junior southpaw was honored as a pitcher. Outfielders Nick Kellner and Marv Pawlowski, both first team all-Gazette picks, were also named to the all-NFL first team.

For Niagara-Wheatfield, Adam Curyto and Chris Gruarin were first-team picks. Niagara Falls’ Jake and John Lysiak picked up first-team honors, while the North Tonawanda duo of Micah and Jesse Puscheck also made the first team.

Kevin Whitehead (Kenmore East) and Tom DiCarlo (Lockport) rounded out the first team.

Wilson seniors Andy Carroll and Andy Jones made the coaches’ all-Niagara-Orleans League first team. Starpoint’s Andy Boyce was a first team all-ECIC II pick.


First Team: Adam Curyto (Junior, P, Niagara-Wheatfield), Joel Klock (Junior, P, Grand Island), Kevin Whitehead (Senior, C, Kenmore East), Jake Lysiak (Junior, INF, Niagara Falls), Micah Puscheck (Senior, INF, North Tonawanda), Chris Gruarin (Senior, INF, Niagara-Wheatfield), Tom DiCarlo (Sophomore, INF, Lockport), Nick Kellner (Sophomore, OF, Grand Island), John Lysiak (Senior, OF, Niagara Falls), Marv Pawlowski (Senior, OF, Grand Island), Jesse Puscheck (Sophomore, DH, North Tonawanda).

Second Team: Carl Graff (Senior, P, Niagara-Wheatfield), Scott Whitehead (Senior, P, Kenmore East), Adam Grace (Junior, C, Niagara Falls), Chris Podlucky (Senior, INF, Grand Island), Colton Fago (Senior, INF, Lockport), Ricky Christopher (Senior, INF, Kenmore West), Ricky Grace (Senior, INF, Niagara Falls), Mike Cuddahee (Sophomore, OF, Lewiston-Porter), Joe Montesanti (Sophomore, OF, North Tonawanda), Paul Smith (Senior, OF, Niagara-Wheatfield), Kyle fernandez (Senior, DH, Lockport).

Third Team: Chris Kirkland (Junior, P, Niagara Falls), Jake Janeczko (Sophomore, P, Lewiston-Porter), Joe Oliverio (Senior, C, Grand Island), Alex Nowocien (Sophomore, INF, Lewiston-Porter), Reese Bedient (Junior, INF, Niagara-Wheatfield), Kevin Miller (Senior, INF, North Tonawanda), Matt Paonessa (Senior, INF, Niagara Falls), Ryan Tinkham (Senior, OF, Lockport), Derek Bloomfield (Junior, OF, North Tonawanda), Zach Bouley (Junior, OF, Kenmore West), Kyle McGovern (Junior, DH, Niagara Falls).


First Team: Buddy Keeler (Junior, P, Albion), Rohn Pierce (Sophomore, P, Newfane), Jon Forder (Senior, C, Albion), Brad Rush (Junior, INF, Albion), Andrew Carmer (Sophomore, INF, Barker), Matt Kuhn (Senior, INF, Royalton-Hartland), Ronnie Manella (Junior, INF, Albion), Tyler Gabbey (Senior, OF, Akron), Andy Jones (Senior, OF, Wilson), Matt Monacelli (Junior, OF, Albion), Nate Lester (Junior, DH, Albion), Andy Carroll (Senior, DH, Wilson).

Second Team: Joe Monti (Junior, P, Royalton-Hartland), Kyle Kiebzak (Junior, P, CSAT), Rocco Vaccaro (Senior, C, CSAT), Cody Blackley (Junior, INF, Barker), Collin Flagler (Senior, INF, Newfane), Mike Porter (Sophomore, INF, Royalton-Hartland), Nate Meier (Junior, INF, Wilson), Matt Borning (Junior, OF, Medina), Sean Akin (Senior, OF, Akron), Tom Hicks (Senior, OF, Albion), Ryan Riemer (Junior, DH, Medina).

Honorable Mention: Bob Groff (Akron), Jake Lester (Albion), Russell Craft (Albion), John Stacey (CSAT), Jordan Wansart (CSAT), Jacob Miller (Medina), Stephen Kneeland (Newfane), Garth Seefeldt (Newfane), Bryan Warren (Royalton-Hartland), Jordan Thilk (Wilson), Cameron Sidote (Wilson).


First Team: Andy Boyce (Junior, 1B, Starpoint)

Second Team: Jon Corbi (Junior, P, Starpoint), Andy Lane (Junior, P, Starpoint).

Honorable Mention: (Joe Delelio (Starpoint), Ryan Austin (Starpoint), Garrett Britton (Starpoint).