B  U  F  F  A  L  O      N  E  W  S



Updated: 04/05/08 7:00 AM

The 2007-08 All-Western New York Scholar-Athlete winter sports team consists of 123 students, including 18 repeat winners (students nominated to the fall sports team).

Over 250 applications from over 50 different schools were received for the winter team, which consists of nine boys and girls sports.

The selection committee includes Athletics Directors Greg Kaszubski of Clarence, Chris DeMarco of Sweet Home, Nancy Riccio of Amherst, Mark DiFilippo of Niagara-Wheatfield, Dave Thomas of the Buffalo Public Schools and Judy Otto of Baker; Sister Maria Pares, president of the Monsignor Martin Athletic Association girls division; Buffalo News assistant sports editor Dennis Danheiser and Dick Gallagher from Western New York High School Sports.

To be nominated for the team, students must have carried a 90-plus average for the previous six semesters and been a starter or significant player in their sport. The scholar-athlete team is open to seniors from Western New York’s 100-plus public, Catholic and private schools.

The team is sponsored by West Herr Automotive Group.

All-WNY Scholar-Athlete Team

Row 1: A) Matthew Aloisio, Williamsville North, Wrestling; B) Steve Ambrose, St. Francis, Basketball; C) Seth Andrews, Pioneer, Swimming & diving; D) Aaron Andzel, Clarence, Basketball; E) Stephen Arlington, Amherst, Swimming & diving; F) David Armstrong, Clarence, Hockey; G) Mary Balkin, Mount St. Mary’s, Indoor track; H) Zachary Ball, Kenmore East, Indoor track; I) Brian Barnas, Sweet Home, Bowling; J) Matthew Bradley, Williamsville East, Hockey

Row 2: A) Jon Brand, Clarence, Hockey; B) Maryanne Calabrese, Hutch-Tech, Basketball; C) Brittany Casino, Wilson, Basketball; D) Margaret Croft, East Aurora, Basketball; E) Kadie Curry, Wilson, Basketball; F) Emily DeTine, Akron, Basketball; G) Emma Dewart, Barker, Basketball; H) Caitlyn Driscoll, Grand Island, Indoor track; I) Spencer Evans, Holland, Indoor track; J) James Farrell, St. Joe’s, Hockey;

Row 3: A) Jacob Federico, St. Joe’s, Hockey; B) Josh Feiler, Clarence, Wrestling; C) Domonique Fields, Hutch-Tech, Basketball; D) Kimberly Flaig, Holland, Indoor track E) Kelsey Fraser, Lockport, Indoor track; F) Nikki Frederickson, Jamestown, Basketball; G) Kacie George, Holland, Basketball; H) Matthew Helm, Williamsville North, Indoor track; I) Ben Hocking, Clarence, Bowling; J) Daniel Hoff, Clarence, Indoor track

Row 4: A) Shawn Hoffman, North Tonawanda, Swimming & diving; B) Samuel Huoh, Amherst, Indoor track

Row 5: A) Jessan Hurkes, Gowanda, Wrestling; B) Patrick Hurley, City Honors, Swimming & diving; C) John Inzina, Clarence, Indoor track; D) Kyle Johnson, Bishop Timon, Hockey; E) Josh Kaplan, Grand Island, Swimming & diving; F) Nicole Karek, Frontier, Basketball; G) Taylor Kensy, Holland, Indoor track; H) Paul Ketterer, Hutch-Tech, Bowling; I) Heeseung Kim, City Honors, Swimming & diving; J) Aaron Klein, Sweet Home, Bowling

Row 6: A) Matt Klock, Grand Island, Indoor track; B) Sarah Kosloski, Kenmore East, Indoor track; C) Paul Kowalski, St. Joe’s, Basketball; D) Emily Kraus, Clarence, Bowling; E) Kaitlin Lancellotti, Clarence, Basketball; F) Michael Lanighan, Newfane, Swimming & diving; G) Erica Lemke, Holland, Basketball; H) Andrew Lex, Clarence, Basketball; I) Melissa Lockwood, City Honors, Swimming & diving; J) Casey Martin, Amherst, Basketball

Row 7: A) Elizabeth Mason, East Aurora, Bowling; B) Cassandra Mathers, Cassadaga Valley, Basketball; C) Scott Mc-Gregor, Tonawanda, Wrestling; D) Clare McKenna, City Honors, Basketball; E) Sara Melzer, Sacred Heart, Bowling; F) Sam Mendola, Kenmore East, Indoor track; G) Sarah Mikulski, Williamsville North, Indoor track; H) Andrew Moser, Christian Central, Basketball; I) Alex Ognibene, Falconer, Wrestling; J) Brittaney Parry, Holy Angels, Basketball

Row 8: A) Ryan Patterson, Kenmore East, Hockey; B) Cassandra Pinkoski, Brocton, Basketball; C) Giana Porpiglia, Dunkirk, Bowling

Row 9: A) Steven Prendergast, Starpoint, Swimming & diving; B) Kersten Pretorius, Clarence, Indoor track; C) Benjamin Quast, Lockport, Wrestling; D) Mary Rachel Robbins, Lockport, Indoor track; E) Matthew Richey, St. Francis, Indoor track; F) Stephen Salcedo, Akron, Basketball; G) Katherine Salisbury, Sacred Heart, Bowling; H) Lukas Shumway, Niagara-Wheatfield, Swimming & diving; I) Amy Simon, Amherst, Basketball; J) Nolan Skipper, St. Francis, Hockey

Row 10: A) Dan Smith, St. Francis, Basketball; B) Emily Smith, East Aurora, Basketball; C) Matthew Spitler, St. Joe’s, Basketball; D) Breanna Stachowski, Immaculata, Basketball, E) Amie Stuitje, Christian Central, Basketball; F) Ben Swanson, Gowanda, Bowling; G) Richard Tomczak, Frontier, Basketball; H) Jordan Toth, Grand Island, Swimming & diving; I) Elizabeth Tramposch, Sacred Heart, Basketball; J) Holly Travis, Clarence, Basketball

Row 11: A) Patrick Vanini, Depew, Basketball; B) Kyle Van Note, St. Francis, Indoor track; C) Kevin Walch, Wilson, Basketball; D) Brian Wallden, Williamsville East, Basketball; E) Sean Walsh, Kenmore East, Hockey; F) Andrew Wingerter, Canisius, Basketball; G) Ken Wojnowski, Lancaster, Hockey; H) Aaron Young, Frewsburg, Basketball; I) Justin Young, Canisius, Basketball; J) Jennifer Zanghi, Cassadaga Valley, Basketball

NOT PICTURED: Chris Cassidy, Clarence, Swimming & diving; Lynn Farrell, Hutch-Tech, Bowling; Kane Hsieh, Williamsville East, Swimming & diving; Elana Korn, Amherst, Basketball; Alexander Kruglov, Nichols, Bowling; Samantha Love, Wilson, Basketball; Jillian Nasisi, Sweet Home, Bowling; Alex Rogers, City Honors, Swimming & diving; Leah Woodward, Dunkirk, Basketball; Torrie Wydysh, Cleveland Hill, Basketball

REPEAT WINNERS: Madison Galasso, Mount St. Mary’s, Indoor track; Hillary Hamp, Mount St. Mary’s, Basketball; Andrew Hopkins, Sweet Home, Indoor track; Jacob Houser, Canisius, Swimming & diving; Steve Karnyski, Depew, Basketball; Rachael Kermis, Nichols, Bowling; Lauren Kraft, Holy Angels, Basketball; John LoBianco, North Collins, Basketball; Samuel LoPresti, Canisius, Indoor track; Robert Makin, Holland, Basketball; Timothy Metivier, Kenmore East, Indoor track; Julia Murak, East Aurora, Basketball; Brianna Nemmer, Clarence, Basketball; Matthew Pawlicki, Williamsville East, Indoor track; David Szymkowiak, Amherst, Indoor track; Jessica Tarantino, East Aurora, Basketball; Sarah Tarantino, East Aurora, Basketball; Ann Vallone, Holland, Bowling