"Thumbs Up"

Your Restaurant Reviews

Let  Everyone Know  Your New Favorite  Place  To Dine In The Buffalo/Niagara Region

                                Email: Jodi@giecom.net


Reviews are voluntarily submitted. Isledegrande.com does not pay for meals.



$$
Location:
971 East River
Grand Island
773-0106

Reviewer: Dorothy Bennett
6/29/08

Riverstone Grill - Unfortunately Closed Week of 8/12/08

Brought out of town guest. It is mostly seafood and steak but we were able to find something for all of us. I had the grill chicken salad. It was very good. My daughter had the loaded potato soup (I took a bite) it was outstanding. I will be sure to get my own next time, she loved it as well. She also had the Buffalo Chicken Sandwich. It was a bit spicy but she still enjoyed it. If you like spicy this will be great for you. Kim had the grilled chicken sandwich and said she wished she had a place where she lived that made it that good. Kaila had chicken finger kids meal (wasnít on the menu) but she asked and they had it. Outstanding service as well. My only complaint would be the unsweetened Iced Tea. It tasted like it had been in the pot to long. Canít leave out the dessert. Kas had the triple chocolate cheese cake (I took a bite, ok maybe two) It was amazing. Kaila had hot fudge brownie. She loved it. It was great food, great service and reasonably priced. Would definitely go back. 4 people with all of the above eaten for only $51.


$
Location:
1270 Baseline
Grand Island

Reviewer: Charlene Russo Pettit
5/22/08

Dick & Jenny's Bake & Brew

This is more than a coffee shop. All the food I have had to date has been delicious. The owners came from New Orleans so most of the food has a New Orleans flair. It is a must try for all Grand Islanders. You can have lunch from $7-$10 including a delicious fresh salad made with crumbly blue cheese, walnuts and a balsamic vignagrette dressing, along with a delicious cup of soup. The menu changes every Tuesday. All the dishes have been DELICIOUS! The breakfasts are great. They are served with a fruit cup made fresh daily. Plus there are pastries galore, each one better than the other. They have all types of delicious latte coffee and teas. The Bake and Brew is truly an asset to Grand Island. It is a wonderful place to go and read the paper while enjoying delicious food locally.


$$$
Location:
1435 Hertel Ave
Buffalo   716-446-0700

Reviewer: Mandy Malaney
& Phil Tomczak
4/17/08

Empire Grill

Phil wanted to take me somewhere special, somewhere where we could dress up! So he booked us a reservation last Friday evening for 7:15 at The Empire Grill. I had the ~ Pan Seared Sea Scallops with mango-black bean salsa, sesame broccoli and French fries. The scallops were absolutely delicious! Phil had the Grilled 9 oz. Filet Mignon with smoky bacon-port wine sauce with Sticky Rice and Asparagus. The filet was cooked to perfection! Along with 2 glasses each of a house Merlot ~ we had a lovely time The service was wonderful and our waiter Brian did a great job!


$
Location:
2126 Niagara St.
Riverside Area   716-873-4147

Reviewer: Scott Kalman
3/25/08

Faso's Restaurant

If you are looking for some great Italian cuisine, Fasoís is the place to head. They have an extensive menu with reasonable prices and a nice wine list. Icicle lighting provides a very unique ambiance while enjoying some authentic Italian dishes. The eggplant parmesan was recommended and it is a generous portion as well as the chicken parmesan. The dinners were thoroughly enjoyed and large enough for lunch the next day! Take a chance on a fine Riverside neighborhood restaurant.


$$-$$$
Location:
326 West Ave.
Lockport   716-433-2913

Reviewer: Dorothy Rowswell
3/13/08

DeFlippo's Restaurant

While we mainly support local restaurants, and enjoy them too......we find ourselves going for the easy drive to DeFlippo's Restaurant in Lockport for that once in a while change. DeFlippo's is a family owned restaurant located at 326 West Ave. Dominic DeFlippo is chef, and creates a wonderfully diverse menu. My personal favorite is broiled scallops, but we have enjoyed every kind of meal, from pastas to steak. Dominic's wife Nancy is an accomplished pastry chef, so be decadent and enjoy cream puffs filled with real cream, or fresh cakes and pies. You won't be disappointed.


$
Location:
2352 Grand Island Blvd.
Grand Island   773-7373

Reviewer: Patti Burridge
3/4/08

Town Cafe

My husband and I enjoy the food, Quick Draw and a friendly atmosphere at the Town Cafe. I have a 7 year old grandaughter and everytime I give her a choice of where to go to eat, she chooses Town Cafe. We have baked chicken fingers that are out of this world, along with the pizza and wings. Bernie makes the best pizza. Louise makes everything homemade, the meatballs and sauce, wow. Love the steak and cheese subs. Fish frys are excellent. They really accommodate the customer and they do not over price them. Try it, I am sure you will be back.


$
Location:
2352 Grand Island Blvd.
Grand Island   773-7373

Reviewer: Ellen Martin
2/25/08

Town Cafe

For a nice relaxing meal, just head down Grand Island Blvd., right next to Pizza Hut....The Town Cafe. Everyday is unlimited soup (all homemade) and salad bar for the low price of $5.99. The soups are minestrone (yum) Italian wedding and chicken noodle. All three are mouthwatering! The salad bar is full of regular salad items, plus pasta salads, fruit and jellos. ALL UNLIMITED. The homemade meatballs are great whether on hot sandwiches or spaghetti, but my favorite is the pizza and wings. Sooo good! The pizza tastes like old time pizza, try it, you will like it. Fish fry's are any day of the week and are also excellent. From tasty strip steak sandwiches or dinners to just a burger, give it a try. Open everyday but Monday. Maybe we'll see you there!


$
Location:
951 Niagara Falls Blvd.
Amherst   446-9206

Reviewer: Cheryl Frailey
2/18/08

El Palenque

Since we no longer have a Mexican Restaurant on the island...... A trip over the bridge to El Palenque is well worth the ride. It is located on the corner of Niagara Falls Blvd. & Eggert ( Between Eggert & Sheridan ). The food is fantastic!!! The prices are reasonable, the homemade salsa while you await your meal is very tasty. Everything we have tried is delicious. I especially love the Pollo Adobe. It is a nice change from the ordinary.


$$
Location:
2749 Grand Island Blvd.
Grand Island   775-0007

Reviewer: Cheryl Frailey
2/15/08

Pepper Mill Restaurant

Last night we went to the Pepper Mill Restaurant for Valentine's Day Dinner. We both had the Chicken Francaise, it was wonderful! The chicken was delicious, the baked potato perfect, and the fresh carrots were a wonderful compliment to the entire dinner. Their Burgers, Wings and Beef on Weck are also just a few of the great items on the Menu. You are treated well & the prices are very reasonable. We have been to many restaurants from the West Coast all the way to as far as Russia and believe me this is one of our favorites. Why leave the Island when we have such a great place to dine, The Pepper Mill. Give it a try, you won't be sorry!!

$$
Location:
2749 Grand Island Blvd.
Grand Island   775-0007

Reviewer: Mandy Malaney
2/14/08

Pepper Mill Restaurant

According to my daughter Amber, I never comment on food, either good or bad. But.... last night she and I went to the Pepper Mill Restaurant here on Grand Island, and I think I had the best meal I've ever had! I actually asked our waitress, Nicole, (who was very sweet) to compliment the Chef for me! It was one of the chef's specials ~ Haddock with either mozzarella or provolone layered on top with diced tomatoes then broiled to a gentle crispy brown with a side of rice and coleslaw. I rarely finish a meal, but last night ~ I did! Whenever we go to the Pepper Mill ~ Amber always gets the same thing ~ we can't remember what it's called, but something with the word Cajun or Creole in it, however in Amber's words ~ I had pasta with chicken, Italian sausage, peppers, and a cream sauce, Very yummy! Along with some Quick Draw, Amber's company and a glass of Merlot ~ I'd have to say it was great evening all around despite the ice storm!


$$
Location:
1488 Ferry Road
Grand Island   773-5030

Reviewer: Teddy Linenfelser
2/7/08

The Village Inn

Jim and I really enjoy going to the Village Inn for a number of reasons. It is close to home, the help is very friendly and always willing to go the extra mile, we always see friends and we are seldom disappointed with our meal. We both tend to order "the same old thing," such as wings, the big burger and fish fry . Jim always orders soup with his dinner and I have recently started to order the small steak sandwich. The steak is always done the way I order it, medium rare, always tender and it's a decent price for a great sandwich that features sauteed mushrooms and is served on a garlic butter, toasted roll. If we stop in on a Friday night, Jim will often order the fish fry, said to be one of the best in town. I go to the Village Inn whenever I'm meeting a friend for lunch. The main difference in going at lunch time versus the evening is that the noise level on some Friday nights is fairly high. But that fact makes up for itself as everyone you see is there having a great time.


$$
Location:
76 Pearl St
Buffalo   856-2337

Reviewer: Jodi Robinson
1/31/08

Pearl Street Grill

We chose the Pearl Street Grill for its location before attending an event at HSBC arena. It is a short walk in good weather to the Arena but as it is winter, jumping on the free trolley is your best bet. The ambiance is very interesting, the building was built in 1841 and looks it! On the walls are pictures and memorabilia from the Canal District era. On to the food - this is a big menu. You can get assorted appetizers, main course salads, nice sandwiches and full entrees. We started with a house salad that was quite nice, Along with some iceberg lettuce there was assorted field greens, fresh tomatoes, onion and cucumbers. My lemon-poppyseed dressing was just the right mix of sweet and tangy. I chose the Brewer's Burger for dinner. A big, juicy burger cooked perfectly as ordered topped with sauteed onions, mushrooms, cheddar and finished with the grill's own Street Brawler Stout BBQ sauce. Crisp and hot pub fries accompanied my sandwich and they were great. My dinner partner chose the beer battered fish fry which is available every day. A nice piece of haddock was served with a side of crisp cole slaw and those fabulous pub fries. All in all it was a delicious dinner and reasonably priced.


$
Location:
2470 Military Rd
Town of Niagara   298-4288

Reviewer: John Moore
1/24/08

Augies

Augies is like stepping back in time, to a place without chain restaurants, or sameness, where the local eatery was the place you went for homestyle food, friendly conversation and people who knew you. It's the food version of your own personal "Cheers". Daily specials are inexpensive and just plain good. The menu is extensive with the kind of food you understand. If you can't find something you want at Augies you probably shouldn't be eating. Personal favorite any time of day, breakfast, lunch and dinner...is the steak and egg special served with sour dough toast and crispy potatoes. Quality and friendliness is four stars.


$$$$
Location:
5493 Sheridan Drive
at International Drive
Amherst    839-2525

Reviewer: Harry N. Carter
1/17/08

Black & Blue Steak and Crab

Our first trip to a new restaurant in Williamsville, "Black & Blue Steak and Crab" was a very pleasant experience. We liked everything about the food. From the complimentary fresh rolls - the seared Scallops with a Pomegranate Glaze over fresh Vegetable Risotto - to the cocoa dusted chocolate truffles that arrived with the bill. The service was outstanding and the surroundings were warm and inviting.








eXTReMe Tracker