The Board of Directors of the West River Homeowners Association held a meeting on Wednesday, January 30, 2002 in the conference room in the Town Library presided over by Vice President, Sharon Watkinson. 


Stu Lavallee read the secretary's report from the November 8, 2001 Board of Directors Meeting.


Directors Elected for 2002-2004 Term:

New directors are James Tomkins and Floyd R. Doring.  Sharon Watkinson and Frank Greco were re-elected for another three-year term.


Snowmobile Issue:

Robert Beach and Marilyn Mazza reported on their meeting with Ben Morey of the Parks Department and members of the Grand Island Snowmobile Club held November 27, 2001.  On a trial basis for this year, trail hours are extended to 10 p.m. and confined to the western half of the West River median.   If  homeowners experience any problems with snowmobilers, they should contact the Parks Department.



Robert Beach reported there are 144 members at present.  It was agreed that all West River residents would receive the first newsletter to let new residents know of W.R.H.O.A. activities and give everyone a chance to become a member.


Median Mowing:

Grass mowing during summer 2001 left much to be desired, both in quality and number of times of mowing.  Floyd Doring agreed to chair grass cutting and work with the State D.O.T.



Jake Kreutz reported that there will be a West River Parkway clean up on Saturday May 11.  Volunteers are asked to meet at Whitehaven Rd. Overlook at 10:00 a.m..


West River Beautification:

Dave Davis outlined plans for planting decorative bushes and shrubs at designated intersections along the West River.  Directors approved allocating $500 to this project, pending permission by the State.  Jim Tomkins volunteered to help with this project


After the meeting Dave Davis obtained permission from the State to make a 90 x 20 planting at the end of Whitehaven Rd.  The planting will extend out from the river shrub line in a half circle so that mowers can cut the grass around the planting.


Volunteers are requested to help with this planting scheduled for 9:30 am on Saturday May 25.  Volunteers are asked to bring their own shovels and be prepared to work for a couple of hours.


Election of Officers:

The following individuals were elected and agreed to serve as officers for 2002.

President, Frank Greco            Vice-President, Sharon Watkinson

Secretary, Stu Lavallee            Treasurer, Marilyn Mazza


Committee Chairpersons:

Grass cutting:                Floyd Doring

Membership:                Robert Beach              

Annual dinner:            Sharon Watkinson       

Adopt-a-Highway:            Jake Kreutz

Flower Planting:            Jake Kreutz

River Enhancement:            Dave Davis and Jim Tomkins

Hospitality:                   Jim Tomkins and Donna Tomkins

Nominations:                Alice Doerr



Sharon Watkinson

W.R.H.O.A. Vice President